Some communities in Cape Cod area on the Massachusetts coast in the United States are exploring urine diversion and composting toilets

Page selection:
  • noe-hays

Re: Some communities in Cape Cod area on the Massachusetts coast in the United States are exploring urine diversion and composting toilets

I have some direct experience in this project, so I might be able to answer questions if anyone has any. I recently installed a pair of Full Circle composting toilets (www.fullcirclecompost.org) as replacements for an old residential Clivus system, and will be installing one more in another residence this fall or winter.

The Full Circle toilets (which I manufacture) are UDDTs with composting for the feces, but the subsidy also applies to combined urine/feces composting toilets and to UD flush toilets (and I know that Separett UDDTs, Phooenix composting toilets, and Dubbletten UD flush toilets have all been installed as part of this initiative--and there may be other types installed that I'm not aware of.)

The purpose of the program is to reduce nitrogen emissions from on-site septic systems, and to that end the nitrogen concentration in the septic tanks is being tested before and after installation of the ecosan toilets.

The project involves the subsidies that have been mentioned, and also a set of plumbing code variances for imported systems or other equipment that does not have U.S. approval.

--Abe
The following user(s) like this post: Elisabeth

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • canaday
  • A biologist working toward sustainability

Re: Some communities in Cape Cod area on the Massachusetts coast in the United States are exploring urine diversion and composting toilets

Hi Toni,

This is good news. Let us know if there are any little problems we can help to resolve ... before they become big problems.