Low cost water filtration (for rural areas of developing countries)

14.8k views

Page selection:
  • GrahamK
    Topic Author
  • I am trying to find info on simple small water filters and BSF for rural areas

Re: Low cost water filtration (for rural areas of developing countries)

Hello Owice,

Could you tell me how I can download the pdf? I do have/want Dropbox.

You might be interested by the work shown on small BSFs at:
preserve.lehigh.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?...cle=2570&context=etd

Graham K This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Graham Knight

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Owice

Hello,

I finished my masters in Integrated Water Resources Management and my thesis was mainly about using biosand filters to enable the poor.

My thesis included a literature comparison of different household treatment options. I built and used a biosand filter from local materials in Jordan. It was relatively cheap and very affordable. It costed around 19$.

You can access my thesis in the following link :
www.dropbox.com/s/hurpj4ts4wtr4j8/Edited%20thesis.pdf

I am ready for any further quedtions/explanations.

• JKMakowka
  • Just call me Kris :)

Re: Low cost water filtration

Do you actually have a scientific source that backs your cloth filter claim? I am not disputing that it might reduce the quantity of cholera bacteria through turbidity reduction, but do we really want people to drink cholera contaminated water with an only partially effective filter? I am quite sure that any such studies were related to worst case emergency situations where any treatment is better than nothing.

Your link leads again to a different topic than you mention in the text, but yes a biosand filter does not really need a very thick sand layer (as already written above). However a flimsy bucket solution is easily disturbed and damaged as they also write in your link.