New study: dealing with Helminths should be part of the SDGs - A "Worm Index" for Human Development

Page selection:
  • DaveBates

Re: New study: dealing with Helminths should be part of the SDGs

Elisabeth:

Thanks...well put.

David

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • richardl

Thanks for the link to the paper Joe. I will include aspects of this in my lecture notes.

• vishwanathdalvi
  • I am a chemical engineer interested in developing sustainable technology solutions to address problems of access to energy, clean-water and sanitation.

Hi!

Thank you for your answer. And the Wikipedia essay was very helpful.

What was most interesting is the solution: heating to above 40C and removing moisture is quite feasible with a dry toilet.

We will look into this more carefully.

And thank you once again!

With kind regards,

Vishwanath
Vishwanath H. Dalvi
R. A. Mashelkar Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering
Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
LinkedIn: in.linkedin.com/in/vishwanathdalvi
RTTC Project: forum.susana.org/forum/categories/141-ot...gy-mumba-india#13252

• Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Dear David,

About your question regarding urine and schistosomiasis, I think I can help you out with that reference that you were trying to remember.
But firstly for those who don't know:
Schistosomiasis is a helminth infection and is counted as a neglected tropical disease. The Wikipedia page on Schistosomiasis is pretty good (I also did some work on editing it in the past, e.g. the picture in the lead was added by me, after I hunted around for additional pictures for quite some time):
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schistosomiasis