Advice on SFDs (shit flow diagrams) and informal sanitation chain in informal settlements (e.g. Nairobi, Kenya and elsewhere)

Page selection:
  • leftyrights
    Topic Author
  • PhD student in city planning

Re: Advice on SFDs (shit flow diagrams) and informal sanitation chain in informal settlements (e.g. Nairobi, Kenya and elsewhere)

I'm a PhD student in city planning at Berkeley and I'd like to ask your advice about my sanitation case study in Nairobi's informal settlements. Thanks so much in advance!

I'm exploring where and how fecal waste flows in Nairobi's informal settlements, comparing 2 slums to capture some variations that may be missed in past SFDs (e.g., areas differing in their use of pit latrines, access to sewers, public toilets, or Sanergy's Fresh Life Toilets, and how disposal patterns vary during rainy season, at night etc.). I'm also interested in maintenance of toilets, with some gendered consideration of female/male residents who strive to keep these facilities clean. My aim is to reveal some of the spatial variations and informal practices that are often obscured SFDs, and I hope to map & explore these flows with local stakeholders like latrine-emptiers, community leaders, public toilet caretakers, etc. I plan to work with Kenya's slum-dweller federation, Muungano wa Wanavijiji, to build on their existing maps of toilets in these areas. In turn, I hope to generate some fine-grained information that may support future advocacy and behavior-change interventions.

If possible, can you recommend any publications, contacts, or projects that may be relevant? Here are some that I'm already aware of:
-SaniPath's recent work, including SuSanA videos from the 2016 SFD meeting in Stockholm
-the latest FSM work from WSP, which include SFDs with more detailed consideration of informal settlements' flows in Lima, Dhaka, etc.
-UBSUP in Kenya
-WSUP's project with emptiers in Kibera