Are there any cities that have banned unlined pit latrines?

Page selection:
  • kevintayler
  • I am a water and sanitation engineer, also interested in general urban housing issues. In recent years, I have worked on FSM for various organizations

Re: Are there any cities that have banned unlined pit latrines?

Hi All

I would echo all of Elisabeth's comments. The only point is that septic tank to soakaway/drainfield systems are found in developed countries - my information (based on reading rather than direct observation) is that septic tanks are common in rural areas in North America. They are now fairly rare in the UK but still exist in some rural areas.

As to examples of where unlined pits have been banned - my understanding is that they were not allowed in urban areas in Zimbabwe in the early 1980s. That seemed to be something left over from the Colonial period and the Smith regime. Of course, Zimbabwe has always promoted pit latrines for rural areas. Perhaps someone who knows more about the country can comment further.

In the Philippines, they are trying to discourage people from using pits that allow wastewater to percolate into the ground but they suggest replacing this arrangement with connections to drains, which to my mind will often be worse. Again, it would be interesting to get any feedback on this.

Kevin
Kevin Tayler
Independent water and sanitation consultant
Horsham
UK
The following user(s) like this post: Elisabeth

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Re: Are there any cities that have banned unlined pit latrines?

Hi Daniel,

It's an interesting question that you posed here, but one thing I am confused about: