Field Testing of Sludge Digger and Related Tools

• dandreatta
    Topic Author
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Field Testing of Sludge Digger and Related Tools

In the past I’ve announced the development of pit emptying tools, the sludge digger (for thick or thin sludge) the sludge dipper (for thin sludge) and a trash picking tool developed by my students that was called “The Crabtrap”. These devices have now been tested in Malawi and Nairobi.

The sludge digger is a simple bucket-based device that can handle trash. Some pictures of the sludge digger are below, and a video of an early version is at:

The sludge digger has been improved considerably since this video, and a new video will be made soon. The sludge digger works in thick or thin sludge, deep or shallow pits.

The sludge dipper is a simpler lighter version of the sludge digger and works only in thin sludge. It was not tested in Africa, but the basic idea can be seen at:

The crab trap is to clear out the trash in a pit or septic tank before using a more complex machine such as a gulper or an evacuator truck. The crab trap will be covered in a later post. The original prototype can be seen at

Modification have been made since this video was made.

The conditions in Malawi and Nairobi are very different from each other. The sludge is usually thick in the pit latrines in Malawi, and thin in Nairobi. The pits in Nairobi are also not very deep, or in some cases they are only emptied down to a certain depth. Septic tanks in Malawi have thin sludge.

The testing was limited, as the prototypes tested were quick prototypes not meant to be durable. Still, the devices were used in many different pit latrines and septic tanks, and local pit latrine emptiers were involved.