Better septic tank effluent quality in case of regular/scheduled desludging as compared to demand desludging at long intervals

Page selection:
  • kevintayler
  • I am a water and sanitation engineer, also interested in general urban housing issues. In recent years, I have worked on FSM for various organizations

Re: Better septic tank effluent quality in case of regular/scheduled desludging as compared to demand desludging at long intervals

Hi Dean

As requested, I'll try to clarify my thinking on this. I should have been clearer that I was talking about effluent quality in terms of pathogens - although in the case of direct discharge to a drain or watercourse, the increase in solids content of the effluent is also an aspect of quality;

When discharge is to a drainfield or soakaway, my assumptions are as follows - although as I said in my first post, I can find little quantitative evidence on this.

1. Pathogen removal occurs mainly below the soakaway/drainfield - there are studies that show that reduction through the septic tank itself is usually less than 1 log. The greatest reduction occurs in the biomat that forms immediately below the bottom of the soakaway or drainfield but further effective reduction will also occur below this, particularly above the water table.

2. Failure to desludge the septic tank regularly will not in itself have a great effect on pathogen levels in the septic tank effluent and pathogen reduction in the ground will initially not be affected greatly. However, the carry-over of solids will increase significantly as the capacity of the septic tank reduces. My observations of small septic tanks connected to drains suggests that the material exiting the septic tank may consist mainly of partly digested fine particles.