The ACF WASH in Nutrition team is developing 3 posters which aim at explaining the links between WASH and Nutrition

13.5k views

Page selection:
  • Taber
  • I am a student of water, trying to keep our treatment designs 'as simple as possible but not simpler'.

Re: The ACF WASH in Nutrition team is developing 3 posters which aim at explaining the links between WASH and Nutrition

Hi, Carlotta -- These are very much needed. Would it be possible to provide a poster template on which nationals could paste the info in their own language? Thank you. Taber Hand, Wetlands Work! - Cambodia
R. Taber Hand, Ph.D.
Founding Director
Wetlands Work! Ltd.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia

wetlandswork.com
LinkedIn: Taber Hand

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • KeithBell
  • User is blocked

Re: The ACF WASH in Nutrition team is developing 3 posters which aim at explaining the links between WASH and Nutrition

Here's the newest paper on the subject published last week. Unfortunately, the full paper isn't available without cost, but the abstract is useful:
An evolving perspective about the origins of childhood undernutrition and nutritional interventions that includes the gut microbiome
onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/nyas.12487/abstract

The world is only beginning to understand the relationship between poor sanitation and malnutrition. This and previous papers by the same authors reveal gut dysbiosis/infection (using genetic tools such as PCR stool testing) as cause of malnutrition, not a simple matter of lack of food as we've wrongly believed for decades.

So, how is this relevant to sustainable sanitation (Rule 8 of the forum)? Open defecation and mixing our waste with drinking water is negatively affecting general health which begins in the intestines. This problem is associated with decline in cognitive health and diabetes, hardly a sustainable choice.

Carlotta, I stumbled on this drawing of leaky gut you may find useful; here it is attached.