Peepoo bags in Kenyan urban slums: experiences, ideas and research

31.1k views

Page selection:
  • tmsinnovation
  • I manage the Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project) and previously coordinated the Climate-friendly sanitation services in peri-urban areas of Lusaka project in Zambia. My background is in Management, Economics and Information Systems.

Re: How well do peepoo bags degrade in a home composter?

Hi Elisabeth

Thanks for the photos.
It appears from the photos that your composter is extremely compact and that there is not a lot of air flow within the composter. Are there air holes on one or other side of the composter?

Rgds
Trevor

++++++++++++++
Answer by EvM:
Yes, there are holes in the sides. They are maybe 3 mm in diameter, difficult to see in the photos. Apparently that should be enough for aeration? But the compaction is a problem

---> more about Peepoo bags is now in this new thread:
forum.susana.org/forum/categories/52-mob...-contracts-peepoople
Trevor Surridge
Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project)
Project Manager

Deutsche Gesellschaft für
Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Ministry of Water and Irrigation, Shmeisani,
Amman
Jordan
You need to login to reply
The topic has been locked.
  • Elisabeth
  • Freelance consultant since 2012 (former roles: program manager at GIZ and SuSanA secretariat, lecturer, process engineer for wastewater treatment plants)

Re: How well do peepoo bags degrade in a home composter?

Dear all,

Just as an interesting aside: I recently did some mixing in my home composter, taking stuff from the bottom to the top, and was surprised to find still a large chunk of a Peepoo bag, which had been in this composter for about 2 years. (I had once tested my own Peepoo bag - you must always try things out yourself if you want others to believe you - and afterwards I had put the full bag into my home composter).