Reply: ECAM: Assess the energy performance and carbon emissions within the urban water cycle

Page selection:
  • reidharvey7734
  • I am a ceramic industrial designer focused on environmental health and development. Ceramics is ideally suited to addressing the urgent needs of low-income communities and countries. Those embracing ceramic developments will industrialize, gaining resilience and self-sufficiency.

Re: Reply: ECAM: Assess the energy performance and carbon emissions within the urban water cycle

Thanks Elisabeth, much appreciated. As always you are an invaluable source of so much useful information. So far I've only taken in a little of the content of the links that you sent but it seems that most of this relates to urban greenhouse emissions of WASH services. This is highly relevant to our developments but these include largely the rural applications.

I hope it's okay to remind people about the opportunity of treating safe drinking water with granulated ceramics. This is gravity fed and could get safe drinking water to more of the vulnerable than is possible by any other means. The only notable greenhouse emission is in the production of the granulated media, though using environmentally responsible high firing kilns. The large-scale water filters will be highly sustainable, including not only remarkable effectiveness and user-friendliness, but importantly, affordability. As mentioned, several roadblocks to implementation include: 1. the stated lack of capacity to evaluate the large-scale water filters, and, 2. The lack of interest among entrepreneur investors while the stated intent is to make these systems affordable. I.e., the profit margin would be too small to attract entrepreneurs when it is low-income people who are doing production of the granulated water filter media.

Here again are two links to,
  1. The *Ceramic Bulletin* article, *Filtering safe drinking water through granulated ceramics,* and,