Use excreta compost only for non-edible plants (preferably)?

40.5k views

Page selection:
  • marko
  • life is an adventure.............!

Re: Use excreta compost only for non-edible plants (preferably)?

Hello All
It’s Marko in France

I have been using compost from my toilet in the garden for the last 25 years. I also have had over 1 000 000 people go throw my compost toilettes in the last 5 years and have used this compost in agriculture. After reading the different posts in this thread I want to share this:

I believe that there are different qualities of compost.

*Anyone can make a "leave it in a pile/heap compost". This compost I would not use in agriculture. It is perfect for bio-mass reconstruction and reforestation i agree.

*Then there is compost that is managed, it is made in a controlled manner/ritual/respect. By creating certain basic conditions "biological terrain” with a N/C and O/H2O balance. I is then covered to keep the moisture in (70%) and insulated (to keep the heat in).
Only then will the compost heat up rapidly (+/-3days) to + 70°c, this can last 10 to 21 days witch is largely enough to kill of all pathogens and parasites. The temperature will tail off over the next 2 to 3 months (once this themophillic phase is finished) and during the next (mesophillic) phase, there are many divers populations of mycelium that will colonize and break down the different toxins by digesting them ( depending on the different types of cover materiel).
After this first cycle is finished (après 6 months) the compost is then turned, paying particular attention to take that that was at the exterior of the pile and placing it in the center of our next "andain" while re-oxygenating and re-humidifying to restart the whole procedure. Nb: urine can be used in the re-humidifying process.